About the Breakthrough Prizes

The Prizes were founded by Silicon Valley innovators Sergey Brin and Anne Wojcicki, Yuri Milner and Julia Milner, and Mark Zuckerberg and Priscilla Chan. For the fifth year, the 2017 Breakthrough Prize will award up to five prizes in Life Sciences, one in Fundamental Physics and one in Mathematics. One of the Life Sciences awards will be given specifically for work contributing to the understanding of Parkinson’s disease and neurodegenerative disorders. The Physics award will recognize an individual or individuals who have made profound contributions to theoretical, mathematical, or experimental human knowledge.

Breakthrough Prize

Learn More About The Breakthrough Prize Fields